My Ultimate HNG Internship Goal

My Ultimate HNG Internship Goal

Azeez Ganiyat Olajumoke (Backend Developer - Python)

WHY I JOINED HNG...

HNG internship is a 3-month remote program that recruits and trains the most talented software developers across Africa. HNG helps and develops software developers to grow and scale their software development careers with real-world experience.

The co-founder, Mark Essien and CEO, Seyi Onifade's vision remains to help thousands of interns realize their tech careers paths and grow.

Whenever I see any website/an application I am always so inquisitive about what is happening behind the scenes and how some genius had to make it look that way.

I am so excited about technology, internet, and I love computers but never really had access to how it works until I took some courses during my undergraduate; FORTRAN and C programming (just the theory aspect though and it seems difficult) but had access to practice MATLAB, MAPLE, and LATEX. Ever since I had wanted to do just computers and be able to implement scalable applications.

WHAT I WANT TO ACHIEVE...

Specific software/websites are needed in every industry, in every business, and for every function. It becomes more important as time goes on.

Having an interest in developing software/websites for the needs of users, Being curious about how to build and optimize computer programs that run on desktops, laptops, smartphones, and other devices makes me more enthusiastic and engaged in Software Development.

One of many projects designed and developed by the past HNG finalists is Cars.ng (A leading digital marketplace and solutions provider for the automobile industry that connects car shoppers with sellers).

  • By the end of the internship, I want to gain real-world experience of what it takes to implement and build logic-driven applications like Cars.ng and many more. The ultimate goal is the T-shirt😅 that comes with nice side-effects of improving my career and getting a job.
  • I look forward to having experience working in agile teams and collaborate with others remotely.
  • To build my self-confidence in professional settings.
  • To expand my oral and written communication skills.

If you don't have any basic knowledge and seems confused about where to start, the following videos would help ace your decision and experience:

I am grateful for the opportunity at training.zuri.team and the effort put in by the mentors as it was an amazing experience for me, I made my very first PR (Pull Request) on Github, worked on projects, and connected with great people.

Learning is never "final."

You can also take the free beginner training for complete tech beginners at training.zuri.team which hones you for the HNG Internship. To gain practical coding experience and work on a real-world project, join the HNG internship at internship.zuri.team

If you need help on how to get started with your tech journey, the teams at zuri.team would be ready to assist with proper guidance.